Schroders Logo

Getting Started

A fulfilling and happy retirement could require more assets than you might think. You can't simply sit back and hope that everything will somehow work itself out. The government might help out with a small amount, but nowhere near enough to guarantee you a quality retirement lifestyle.

Retirement might seem a long way off. But it's important to begin saving for it as soon as you can. Otherwise to maintain your quality of life, you might have to work for more years than you want.

 

Why do you need to plan for retirement?

According to Hong Kong Population Projections 2004-2033*, by 2033 approximately one in four Hong Kong people will be aged 65 and over, as a result of longer life expectancies and falling birth rates. You are likely to live longer than your parents, and will probably want to retire with a standard of living similar to your current standards, if not better. Because you can't rely on the next generation to subsidise your future, you have to plan and save to finance your own retirement.

* Source: The Hong Kong Population Projections 2004-2033, Census and Statistics Department, HKSAR June 30, 2004.

To successfully plan for your retirement you need to know about investing and the implications of your investment decisions. It starts with understanding the terms used in investing.

Investment Fund
A mutual fund (also known as a unit trust) pools money from many individual investors to achieve predetermined investment objectives. These funds are managed by professional managers. Investors enter a fund by purchasing units, and exit the fund by selling the units.

Asset Class
This refers to the type of financial instrument a fund invests in. Examples are equities (shares in companies), bonds (fixed income investments that pay regular interest) and cash or money market funds (these might be held in one or more foreign currencies).

Risk
All investments carry the risk of loss as well as the promise of gain. Smart investors are aware of risk and its implications. Here are a couple of examples of risk:

1. Inflation Risk
Inflation risk is the rise in prices over time. Your money buys less and less as the years pass. Your savings will lose value if they don't earn enough to stay ahead of inflation. If you simply keep your retirement savings in a bank account your hard-earned money is exposed to inflation risk. Investing in an asset class that has stayed ahead of inflation in the past, such as equities or bonds, could be a safer option in the long-run for your retirement investing.

2. Investment Risk
Every investment instrument fluctuates in value (volatility) meaning that there is possibility your investment will lose value in the market. If you invest in a relatively safe or conservative way, for example, by placing everything in cash, you will achieve a lower long-term return but with less short-term price movement or volatility. Generally speaking, the risk of any investment depends on its asset class (eg. equity, bond, or cash) and the length of time its performance is measured.

 

The chart below illustrates the different returns achieved by investing HK$100 in four different asset categories between 1986-2005. Although historic returns are not necessarily a guide to the future, the figures clearly show the higher accumulated returns from equities relative to bonds and cash during this period.

Basic Asset Class Long-term Growth Short-term Volatility Investment Period
Equities High High Above 10 years
Bonds Medium Medium 5 to 10 years
Cash / Deposits Low Low Within 5 years

 

* Annual compound growth rate
Source: Equities - Morgan Stanley Capital International Index; Bonds - Citigroup World Government Bond Index; Deposits - HK Dollar 3 months - Inter-bank deposit rate; HKCPI - Schroder: Composite HK Inflation Index

The above analysis shows that each asset class has its own specific risk and return characteristics that can be described in broad terms as follows:

Basic Asset Class Long-term Growth Investment Risk Inflation Risk
Equities High High Low
Bonds Medium Medium Medium
Cash Low Low High

There are a number of ways investors can manage or reduce risk. For example:

Diversification
Spreading your assets among different types of investments helps you smooth out the potential ups and downs of your investment returns. When one investment performs poorly, the others may do better, thereby improving the overall return on your investment portfolio. As the chart above illustrates, spreading your assets among various asset classes helps to reduce risk. This is called asset allocation.

You can diversify your portfolio by spreading your investments among:
(i) Different asset classes – cash, bonds and stocks
(ii) Different markets – geographic regions, countries, sectors, currencies

Studies have shown that generally more than 90% of an investment portfolio's returns are attributed to asset allocation.

Dollar Cost Averaging
Investing a fixed amount regularly helps to even out the cost of an investment over time. A dollar cost averaging strategy means you buy more shares when prices are low and fewer shares when prices are high. In the example below, the monthly investment plan investor's average cost is $1.01 compared to the average fund price of $1.06.

 

Dollar Cost Averaging reduces the average cost

Investment of $100 per month
Month Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec Total
Amount Invested $100 $100 $100 $100 $100 $100 $100 $100 $100 $100 $100 $100 $1,200
Fund Price $1.00 $1.20 $1.20 $1.50 $1.35 $1.20 $1.00 $0.90 $0.80 $0.75 $0.80 $1.00 $1.06 (Average Price)
Units Allotted 100 83 83 67 74 83 100 111 125 133 125 100 1,184
Total Amount Invested $1,200
Total Units Allotted 1,184
Average Cost per Unit $1,200 / 1,184 = $1.01

 

Benefits of Dollar Cost Averaging

  • Reduces average unit costs by enabling you to benefit from market falls
  • Eliminates the need to 'time' markets by letting you accumulate more units when markets are low and fewer units when markets are high
  • Prevents you from investing a lump sum at the worst possible moment
  • Encourages a long-term perspective and enables your investments to compound over time

 

The Power of Compounding

The value of beginning a retirement plan early cannot be overemphasised. The sooner you start investing, the greater the effect of compound interest over time. The following two examples illustrate this:

Zoe invests $24,000 a year for 10 years then stops at age 35 and never adds another dollar to her portfolio. Tim, however, starts to invest 10 years later than Zoe. He invests $24,000 a year, for 30 years, from age 35 to 65. Assuming an 8% annual return, who has more money at age 65?

  Zoe saves $2,000 per month from age 25 to 35 Tim saves $2,000 per month from age 35 to 65 Investment Horizon
Total Contributions $240,000 $720,000 10 years
Total Amount at age 65 $7,030,629 $4,158,585 30 years

The information contained in this website is provided for reference only and does not constitute any investment advice.  Investors are advised to seek independent advice before making any investment decision.

Schroder Investment Management (Hong Kong) Limited is regulated by the Securities and Futures Commission of Hong Kong and the funds mentioned herein have been authorised for purchase in Hong Kong by the Securities and Futures Commission ("SFC"); but such authorisation does not imply official recommendation. The information in this website has not been reviewed by the SFC. Non-Hong Kong residents are responsible for observing all applicable laws and regulations of their relevant jurisdictions before proceeding to access the information contained herein. 

About Us | Contact Us | Important Information

投資初階

要安享愉快優遊的退休生活,所需的資產可能超乎您所想像。坐盼水到渠成,往往難以成事。政府或可提供輕微的補助,但絕不足以確保您享有輕鬆無憂的退休生活。

此刻,退休看似是遙不可及的事,但您應盡早開始為退休生活妥善儲蓄,否則您需要工作更長時間,方可維持理想的生活質素。

 

為何需進行退休策劃?

根據「香港人口推算2004–2033」*,鑑於壽命增長及出生率下降,到2033年時,每四個香港人之中,便約有一人年屆65歲或以上。您可能會較您的父母長壽,並希望退休時最少能維持現有的生活水平。您當然不願依賴子女供養,故須及早制定退休計劃及作出儲蓄。

* 資料來源:香港人口推算2004-2033,香港特別行政區政府統計處,2004年6月30日。

要成功制定退休計劃,您需要認識投資,並瞭解投資策略有何影響。第一步是認識投資用語。

投資基金
即互惠基金(也稱為單位信託),匯集眾多個人投資者的資金,以達至預設的投資目標。這些基金由專業投資經理管理。投資者購入基金時須認購單位,售出基金時可出售單位。

資產類別
指基金所投資的各類金融工具,例如股票(公司股份)、債券(定期派付利息的固定收益投資),以及現金或貨幣市場基金(可持有一種或多種外幣)。

風險
所有投資均附帶虧損風險及潛在收益。明智的投資者需瞭解有關風險及其影響。以下舉例說明兩類風險:

1.通脹風險
通脹風險指物價隨著時間上漲。隨著年月過去,資金的購買力將越來越低。若您的儲蓄無法增值至足以追上通脹,其價值便會下跌。若您只把退休儲蓄存入銀行賬戶,那麼您努力工作所賺取的金錢便可能會受通脹風險所蠶食。投資在可跑贏通脹的資產類別(如股票或債券),長遠來說是較安全的退休投資選擇。

2.投資風險
每項投資工具的價值均有升有跌(波動),意味著您的投資項目的市值或會下跌。若您的投資方式相對安全或保守,例如以現金方式持有所有資產,您所得的長遠回報較低,然而,短期的價格變動或波幅同時亦較低。一般來說,投資工具的風險取決於其資產類別(如股票、債券或現金),以及量度表現的時間。

 

下表列出1986年至2005年期間,投資100港元於三種不同資產類別所得的不同回報。雖然過往投資表現並不一定是未來業績表現的指引,但這些數據清楚顯示,期內股票的累計回報高於債券及現金。

基本資產類別 長遠增長 短期波幅 投資年期
股票 超過10年
債券 5年至10年
現金/存款 5年內

 

* 複合年增長率

資料來源:

股票-摩根士丹利資本國際指數; 債券-花旗集團世界政府債券指數; 存款-港元三個月銀行同業存款利率; 香港消費物價指數-施羅德:綜合香港通脹指數

上述分析顯示每種資產類別均具有其風險與回報特性,概述如下:

  長遠回報 投資風險 通脹風險
股票
債券
現金

投資者可透過多種方法管理或減低風險,例如:

分散投資
把資產分散投資於不同類別的投資工具,有助紓緩投資回報的潛在波幅。當一項投資表現遜色時,其他投資或會表現較佳,因而提高投資組合的整體回報。如上圖所示,把您的資產分散投資於各種資產類別,有助減低風險,這稱為資產分配。

您可透過下列方式分散投資,以建立一個多元化的投資組合:
(i) 不同的資產類別–現金、債券及股票
(ii) 不同的市場–地區、國家、行業和貨幣

研究顯示,一般來說投資組合超過90%的回報取決於資產分配。

平均成本法
定期作出定額投資,長遠來說有助分散投資成本。採取平均成本法的策略,意味著您可在價格下跌時買入較多股份,在價格高企時則買入較少股份。以下例子顯示,採用每月投資計劃的投資者,其基金價格的平均成本為1.01美元,而市場的平均基金價格則為1.06美元。

 

平均成本法有助減低平均投資成本

每月投資100元
月份 一月 二月 三月 四月 五月 六月 七月 八月 九月 十月 十一月 十二月 總計
投資金額 $100 $100 $100 $100 $100 $100 $100 $100 $100 $100 $100 $100 $1,200
基金價格 $1.00 $1.20 $1.20 $1.50 $1.35 $1.20 $1.00 $0.90 $0.80 $0.75 $0.80 $1.00 $1.06
(平均價格)
購入單位 100 83 83 67 74 83 100 111 125 133 125 100 1,184
總投資金額 $1,200
總購入單位 $1,184
每單位平均成本 $1,200 / 1,184 = $1.01

 

平均成本法的好處

  • 跌市時降低平均單位成本
  • 讓您可在格價低的時候可買入較多基金單位;相反,在高位時則買入較少單位,毋須時刻擔心市況
  • 避免於市況最壞的時候投入大量資金入市
  • 鼓勵長線投資取向,讓您的投資可得到較大的複息效應及長時間的資本增長

 

複合增長的威力

盡早實行退休計劃,箇中的優勢不容忽視。越早開始投資,複利隨著時間揮發的效力便越大。以下兩個例子可供說明:

詩慧每年投資24,000元,10年後即35歲時停止投資,其後並無再向投資組合注資。然而,錦添較詩慧遲10年起步,每年投資24,000元,由35歲起持續投資30年直至65歲。假設年度回報為8%,誰會在65歲時擁有較多財富?

  詩慧在25歲至35歲期間,每月儲蓄2,000元 錦添在35歲至65歲期間,每月儲蓄2,000元 投資年期
供款總額 $240,000 $720,000 10年
65歲時所獲的總金額 $7,030,629 $4,158,585 30年

本網站提供的資料只供參考用途,並不構成任何投資建議。投資者應在作出任何投資決策之前尋求獨立意見。

施羅德投資管理(香港)有限公司受證券及期貨事務監察委員會(下稱「證監會」)監管,本網頁提及的基金亦已經得到證監會認可在香港發售,但該認可並不表示證監會推介投資於這些基金。本網頁之資料未受香港證券及期貨事務監察委員會檢閱。非香港居民在瀏灠本網頁所載資料前,有責任依循其所屬司法範圍的一切適用法例及規定。

關於我們 | 聯絡我們 | 重要提示